TEXT OF MIKE CASSARO’S ANNOUNCEMENT ON WBKI TV: NATIONAL LOTTERY AND MORE

 
VOTE FOR
DR. MICHAEL CASSARO, MD. (D) FOR SENATOR,
KENTUCKY.

http://www.ShereeKrider.Com
Sheree M Krider
Free Lance
Writer

ShereeKrider.Com
PO Box 18006
Louisville, KY 40261

smkrider@insightbb.com

tel:
fax:

mobile:

502.290.9182
502.290.9182
502.797.3225
Want to always have my latest info?

Want a signature like
this?
—– Original Message —–

Sent: Monday, April 28, 2008 12:53 PM
Subject: TEXT OF MIKE CASSARO’S ANNOUNCEMENT ON WBKI TV: NATIONAL
LOTTERY AND MORE

MIKE CASSARO

For

U.S. Senate

For Immediate
Release                                     
Media Contact

April 28,
2008                                                
Ted Shlechter – 502.387.9459

(For more on this
interview go to WBKI’s website: http://www.cwlouisville.com)

 

I want to chat with you today about an important but neglected issue in
this year’s election cycle. This issue is shoring up Social Security and
Medicare funding.  The survival of
many Kentuckians is literally dependent upon these programs.

 

As we all know, Social Security and Medicare are under siege. Our
population is aging.

As it ages, the demand for Social Security and Medicare benefits
increases significantly.

 

A significant chunk of our earnings already goes to fund these programs.
To prevent further strains on our earnings, we need alternative sources of
revenue to make Social Security and Medicare financially secure.

 

 Two years
ago, the Bush administration, with the blessings of Mitch McConnell and Anne
Northup, tried to privatize Social Security. The American public said a loud NO
to this proposal.  I agree with the
American public.  The Bush,
McConnell and Northup proposal would have helped Wall Street without helping
main street America.

 

I believe that a national lottery will generate the
needed revenues without raising our taxes and privatizing a public trust.   Many other countries, including
Mexico and Canada, have national lotteries. Why not us? 

 

Let me say again, I am proposing legislation for a
national lottery to help shore up the Social Security and Medicare trust
funds.  This lottery will have a
distinct identity and separate process from already existing state
lotteries.   

 

I realize that as a freshmen senator, the chances of getting this
legislation through Congress will be very difficult. I love difficult
challenges, especially those that benefit society.

 

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to make this
announcement.  Feel free to ask me
any questions about this proposal or my candidacy for U.S. Senate. 

 

What My Campaign Is
About?

My campaign is not about me. I have a successful career,
a great family, and a great life. 

 

If I wanted to do what was best for me, I would continue along my current
path.

Unfortunately, many Kentuckians are struggling
financially. They are doing without basic health care coverage. Their children
cannot afford to further their education. This campaign is about them.  I believe that it is morally just to do
what I can to improve the lives of Kentuckians.   

 

Paid for by Cassaro
for US
Senate


No virus found in this incoming message.
Checked by AVG.
Version:
7.5.524 / Virus Database: 269.23.5/1401 – Release Date: 4/28/2008 7:18
AM

Leave a Reply

